Located in Dublin’s City Centre, in Parnell Square, Hugh Lane Gallery, (originally named Municipal Gallery of Modern Art), houses one of Ireland’s most exciting collections of modern and contemporary Irish and international art. It is also the home of Francis Bacon’s Studio. The gallery was founded by Sir Hugh Lane in 1908 as part of the dynamic and pioneering Celtic Revival Movement in Ireland at the turn of the 20th century.
See Impressionist paintings by Manet, Monet Degas, Pissarro and Morisot. Enjoy works by Agnes Martin, Nikki de Saint Phalle, Joseph Beuys, Günther Uecker and the stunning Francis Bacon studio. Enjoy the wonderful collection of Irish art and meet some of the famous Irish personalities in portraiture including W.B Yeats who wrote five poems about the gallery including the famous Municipal Gallery Revisited, Augusta Lady Gregory who, with W.B. Yeats, was a founder of the Abbey Theatre and political figures including Michael Collins, Eamon De Valera, Edward Carson and John Redmond. Don’t miss the beautiful stained-glass room where Harry Clarke’s masterpieces The Eve of Saint Agnes and Mr Gilhooley reside.
The international contemporary collection is diverse and extensive and includes the Sean Scully gallery, one of the most beautiful rooms dedicated to the work of a contemporary artist in Europe.
Francis Bacon’s legendary studio was relocated from 7 Reece Mews, London to Dublin in 1998 and now is permanently on display, preserved exactly as it was. Together with fascinating unfinished works by Francis Bacon, display cases presenting items from the studio, an audio-visual room and touch screen terminals it allows the visitor to delve further into the life and art of one of the most important figurative artists of the 20th century.
Hugh Lane Gallery is situated in the beautiful Charlemont House built in 1763 by the 1st Earl of Charlemont James Caulfeild. Designed by Sir William Chambers, it still retains many of its original architectural features which complement the works on exhibition.
Facilities include bookshop and café. Full wheelchair access and two designated disability parking spaces are located directly outside the gallery.
The gallery regularly organises temporary exhibitions and new displays from its collections. It also has public tours of the gallery.